IFRS Foundation Trustees announce appointments to the IFRS Advisory Council from 2016

 30 October 2015

The Trustees of the IFRS Foundation, responsible for the oversight and governance of the International Accounting Standards Board (IASB), have—following the Trustees meeting in Beijing China—confirmed the appointment of eight new IFRS Advisory Council members and the reappointment of eight existing members.

The Council advises the IFRS Foundation Trustees and the IASB on both strategic and technical matters.  It is made up of over 40 representatives from a broad range of groups that are affected by and interested in international financial reporting, including academics, analysts, auditors, investors, preparers, professional accounting bodies, regulators and standard-setters.

Sheila Fraser, Chair of the IFRS Foundation Trustees´ Nominating Committee, responsible for appointments to the Council, commented:

The Advisory Council plays a very important role in advising both the Trustees and the IASB.  I am pleased to welcome the new members and am grateful to those who have accepted a second term for their ongoing commitment.  I would also like to thank the members who are stepping down for their valuable input.

New appointments—representing existing organisations on Council

Name Title Representing Replacing
William Coen Secretary General Basel Committee on Banking Supervision René van Wyk
Aziz Dieye Founder of Cabinet Aziz Dieye Senegal and the Centre Africain d´Etudes Supérieures en Gestion (CESAG) Management High School in Dakar La Fédération Internationale Des Experts-Comptables Francophones (FIDEF) Daniel McMahon
Yibin Gao Director-General of the Accounting Regulatory Department Ministry of Finance, People´s Republic of China Min Yang
Andrew Marshall Senior Technical Partner, KPMG UK KPMG Egbert Eeftink
Colin McDonald Director of Accounting Policy at BlackRock The Investment Association Peter Chambers
Melanie McLaren Executive Director, Codes & Standards, UK Financial Reporting Council (FRC) Group of European National Standard-setters Alberto Giussani
John Stanford Acting Technical Director of the International Public Sector Accounting Standards Board (IPSASB) International Federation of Accountants (IFAC) Stephenie Fox

New appointment—new organisation on Council

Name Title Representing
Isabelle Ferrand Chief Financial Officer, Confédération Nationale du Credit Mutuel International Co-operative Alliance (ICA)

Re-appointment of existing members on Council

Name Title Representing
Linda Diaz del Barrio Deputy General Director of Accounting Regulation Comisión Nacional Bancaria y de Valores, Mexico
Gavin Francis Deputy Group Chief Accounting Officer, HSBC Institute of International Finance
Jake Green Director of Financial Reporting Grant Thornton
Igor Kozyrev Deputy Chief Accountant—Deputy Vice-President, LUKOIL Management Board of the National Organisation for Financial Accounting and Reporting
Ghiath Shabsigh Assistant Director, Monetary and Capital Markets Department International Monetary Fund
Anne Simpson Director of Global Governance, CalPERS Council of Institutional Investors
Lynda Sullivan Executive Vice-President and Group Chief Accounting Officer, Manulife Financial HUB Global Insurance Group
Stephen Taylor Audit Partner Deloitte Touche Tohmatsu

Ernesto López Mozo (Ferrovial S.A.) and Maarika Paul (Caisse de dépôt et placement du Québec) are also stepping down from the Council.

All appointments take effect 1 January 2016 and are for a three-year period.

In addition to the members of the Council, the European Commission, Japan´s Financial Services Agency and the US Securities and Exchange Commission attend the Council meetings as observers.


Press enquiries:

Kirstina Reitan, Head of Communications, IFRS Foundation
Telephone: +44 (0)20 7246 6960
Email: kreitan@ifrs.org