New members appointed to the IFRS Advisory Council

 04 November 2016

The Trustees of the IFRS Foundation, responsible for the oversight and governance of the International Accounting Standards Board (the Board), have announced several new appointments and reappointments to the IFRS Advisory Council.

The Council comprises over 40 representatives from a wide range of backgrounds and geographic regions. Its role is to advise the IFRS Foundation Trustees and the Board on strategic and technical matters.

Michel Prada, Chairman of the IFRS Foundation Trustees, said:

The Advisory Council is an important sounding board both for the IFRS Foundation Trustees and the International Accounting Standards Board. I would like to welcome all the new Council members and express thanks to all those who have completed their terms or agreed to serve a second term.

New appointments representing existing organisations on Council, effective immediately

Name Representing Replacing
Jean Paul Gauzes European Financial Reporting Advisory Group Roger Marshall
Paul George UK Financial Reporting Council Melanie McLaren
Jessica Magana Comision Nacional Bancaria y de Valores Linda Diaz

New appointments representing existing organisations on Council, effective 1 January 2017

Name Representing Replacing
Abdulrahman Fahd Almosad CMA International Association of Insurance Supervisors Markus Grund
Dr Giuseppe Ballocchi CFA CFA Institute Vincent Papa
Dr Jee In Jang Korean Accounting Standards Board Dr Steve Lim
Olivia Larmaraud ACTEO & MEDEF Pascale Deprez
James Luke EY Danita Ostling

New appointments representing new organisations on Council, effective 1 January 2017

Name Representing
Prof Xinyuan Chen Shanghai University of Finance and Economics
Suresh C. Senapaty Wipro Ltd
Dr Etty Wulandari Indonesian Financial Services Authority

Reappointment of existing members on Council, effective 1 January 2017

Name Representing
Roxana Damianov European Securities and Markets Authority
Holger Daske The International Association for Accounting Education and Research
Micheline Dionne International Actuarial Association
Dr Jens Freiberg BDO
Hidetake Ishihara Nippon Keidanren
Olav Jones Insurance Europe (European Insurance and Reinsurance Federation)
Jürgen Kirchhof European Central Bank
Goro Kumagai The Securities Analysts Association of Japan
Surya Subramanian Individual
Dr Lothar Weniger Corporate Reporting Users’ Forum (International)

Gavin Francis and Goro Kumagai, who were appointed as the Council’s Vice-Chairs in February 2015, have had their roles extended for another two years, until 31 December 2018.

Rajagopal Sankaraiah, Federation of Indian Chambers of Commerce, and Shizhong Huang, Xiamen National Accounting Institute are stepping down from the Council.

In addition to the members of the Council, the European Commission, Japan’s Financial Services Agency and the US Securities and Exchange Commission attend the Council meetings as observers.