Trustees appoint new Advisory Council members

 25 November 2013

The Trustees of the IFRS Foundation (Trustees), responsible for the governance and oversight of the International Accounting Standards Board (IASB), announced today the appointment of fourteen new members of the IFRS Advisory Council.

The IFRS Advisory Council is the formal advisory body to the Trustees and the IASB. It advises the IFRS Foundation on its strategic direction, technical work plan and priorities. Meetings with the IFRS Foundation are held three times a year.

The Council consists of a wide range of representatives from groups that are affected by and interested in the IASB's work. These include investors, financial analysts and other users of financial statements, as well as preparers, academics, auditors, regulators, professional accounting bodies and standard-setters

The new Advisory Council Members are:

All appointments commence from 1 January 2014.  The new members will replace Norbert Barth, Andrew Buchanan, Gerard Ee, Sei-Ichi Kaneko, April Mackenzie, Liz Murrall, Joel Osnoss,  Francis Ruygt, Jerry de St. Paer, Jim Sylph, Leo van der Tas and Mark Vaessen.

Additional appointments to the Advisory Council to replace members whose terms expire at the end of 2013 will be announced in due course. A new Chair of the Advisory Council, to replace Paul Cherry who retires at the end of 2013, will also be announced by the Trustees in due course.

Commenting on the announcement, Robert Glauber, Chairman of the Trustees´ Nominating Committee said;

"I would like to thank both the previous members for their invaluable contribution and the incoming members for agreeing to participate in the important work of the Council. The work of the Advisory Council ensures that key stakeholders in the future of financial reporting maintain a strong voice with which to advise the IASB and the Trustees on their important work."


Press enquiries:

Mark Byatt, Director of Communications and External Affairs, IFRS Foundation
Telephone: +44 (0)20 7246 6472

Chris Welsh, Communications Manager, IFRS Foundation
Telephone: +44 (0)20 7246 6495