Trustees appoint new Advisory Council members

 15 February 2013

The Trustees of the IFRS Foundation, responsible for the governance and oversight of the International Accounting Standards Board (IASB), announced today the appointment of three new members of the IFRS Advisory Council.  The IFRS Advisory Council is the formal advisory body to the Trustees and the IASB.

The new Advisory Council members are:

The new members will replace Carlson Tong, Benoit Onana and Richard Thorpe.

Commenting on the announcement, Paul Cherry, Chairman of the IFRS Advisory Council said:

"The Advisory Council performs a vital role, providing a forum for a range of interested parties affected by the IASB's work to advise the Board and the Trustees on a wide range of issues.  I would like to take this opportunity to express our gratitude to all three of the previous members of the Council for their invaluable contribution and to the incoming members for agreeing to participate in this important work."

A complete list of Advisory Council members can be found here.


Press enquiries:

Mark Byatt, Director of Communications and External Affairs, IFRS Foundation
Telephone: +44 (0)20 7246 6472

Chris Welsh, Communications Manager, IFRS Foundation
Telephone: +44 (0)20 7246 6495