IFRS Interpretations Committee 2014 appointments

 12 May 2014

The Trustees of the IFRS Foundation, the oversight body of the International Accounting Standards Board (IASB), announced today appointments and reappointments to the IFRS Interpretations Committee (the ‘Interpretations Committee’).

The IFRS Interpretations Committee is the interpretative body of the IFRS Foundation. Its mandate is to review widespread accounting issues that have arisen within the context of current International Financial Reporting Standards (IFRS). The work of the Interpretations Committee is aimed at reaching consensus on the appropriate accounting treatment and providing authoritative guidance on those issues.

The Interpretations Committee comprises 14 voting members drawn from a variety of countries and professional backgrounds. The newly appointed members are;

The new members have each been appointed to serve three-year terms, renewable once. All appointments will commence on 1 July 2014.

The Trustees are also pleased to announce the reappointment of Charlotte Pissaridou as a member of the Interpretations Committee for a further three-year term.

Commenting on the appointments, Robert Glauber, Chair of the Trustees’ Nominating Committee, said:

“I would like to welcome Carl, Mikael, Bruce and Bonnie to the IFRS Interpretations Committee. Each brings with them extensive experience in their respective fields that will be of great benefit to the Interpretations Committee in its work. Furthermore, I am delighted that Charlotte has agreed to serve a second term.

I would also like to thank our departing members Luca Cencioni, Jean Paré, Joanna Perry and Scott Taub for their service on the Interpretations Committee.”