IFRS Foundation appoints members of the SME Implementation Group

 14 May 2014

The IFRS Foundation today announced the appointment and reappointment of members of the Small and Medium-sized Entities Implementation Group (SMEIG), effective 1 July 2014.

The SMEIG is an advisory body to the IASB.  Its mission is to support the international adoption of the IFRS for Small and Medium-sized Entities (IFRS for SMEs) and to monitor its implementation.  One of the key responsibilities of the SMEIG is to provide recommendations to the IASB throughout the comprehensive review of the IFRS for SMEs.

The SMEIG was appointed in September 2010 by the Trustees of the IFRS Foundation following a public call for nominations.  On 30 June 2014 the second term of the existing 22 SMEIG members will come to an end.  The Trustees have approved an expansion of the membership of the SMEIG at that date from 22 to a maximum of 30.

The Trustees previously agreed that 11 existing SMEIG members would be reappointed for a third term to provide continuity.  15 new members have also been appointed.  The appointments were made based both on the qualifications of the individual applicants and the need to achieve a professional and geographical balance in the membership of the SMEIG.  The IFRS Foundation has kept 4 vacancies in case suitable candidates are identified at a later date.

The 11 reappointed members will serve a final term of two years ending 30 June 2016.  The 15 new members will serve a term of three years ending 30 June 2017.

Membership of the SMEIG is personal; this means that members participate and vote in accordance with their own independent views, not as representatives voting according to the views of the firm, organisation or constituency with which they are associated.  The full Terms of Reference and Operating Procedures for the SMEIG were updated in February 2014.

You can find a full list of the 26 members of the SMEIG effective from 1 July 2014 below.

Members of the SMEIG effective 1 July 2014

Chairman: Darrel Scott, IASB member

Existing members reappointed

Name Country Affiliation
Dr Omodele R N Jones Sierra Leone Chair, Council for Standards of Accounting, Auditing, Corporate & Institutional Governance (CSAAG)
Bruce Mackenzie South Africa Managing Partner, W Consulting
Sanath P Fernando Sri Lanka Partner, Ernst & Young
Kati Beiersdorf Germany Project Leader, RBS RoeverBroennerSusat
Hugo van den Ende Netherlands Senior Director Accounting, PricewaterhouseCoopers
Robin Jarvis UK Special Adviser, The Association of Chartered Certified Accountants (ACCA); Professor of Accounting, Brunel University
Latin America
Hernán P Casinelli Argentina Chairman, Commission on Accounting Studies (CPCECABA); Board member, Argentine Accounting and Auditing Standards Board (CENCYA)
Artemio Bertholini Brazil CEO/Managing Partner, Grant Thornton
Andrew Brathwaite Barbados Director, AFB Consulting Inc
Henri Fortin Global Head, Centre for Financial Reporting Reform, World Bank Group
Tom J Groskopf US Director, Barnes, Dennig & Co., Ltd


New members appointed


Name Country Affiliation
Simon Fisher Kenya Technical Partner, RSM Ashvir
Pastor Patrick Obilo Orji Nigeria Managing Consultant, Turning Point Consulting Limited
Frederick Kibbedi Uganda Partner, AA&L Associates; Chairman of the Technical Committee, Institute of Certified Public Accountants of Uganda (ICPAU)
Huihao Shu China Deputy Director General, Accounting Regulatory Department, Ministry of Finance of the People’s Republic of China
Fanny Hsiang Hong Kong Director, Head of Technical & Training Department, BDO
Rajkumar S Adukia India Senior Partner, Adukia & Associates, Chartered Accountants
Naofumi Higuchi Japan Director, Grant Thornton Taiyo ASG LLC; Member, Committee of SME/SMP Practice Group at the Japanese Institute of Certified Public Accountants (JICPA)
Jelena Poljaševic Bosnia and Herzegovina Assistant Professor, Faculty of Economics, University of Banja Luka
Eva Törning Sweden Partner—Financial Accounting, Grant Thornton
Freydun Michael Badri Switzerland Partner &d CEO, Rewisco AG
Latin America
Martín Kerner Argentina Contador público, Marcelo Simonetti—Contadores y Auditores
Eduardo Alexei Estrella Morales Ecuador President, Arista Gestoría Organizacional
Luis A. Chavez Ecuador IFRS consultant and trainer, Internal Revenue Service of Ecuador (SRI)
Keith Reilly Australia Financial Reporting Consultant, Keith Reilly
Mario Abela Global Leader—Research and Development, International Federation of Accountants (IFAC)



European Commission

European Financial Reporting Advisory Group (EFRAG)