Olivia Kirtley Elected President of the International Federation of Accountants 

Former AICPA Chair is First Female President in IFAC History 

Published November 07, 2014

NEW YORK (Nov. 7, 2014) — The American Institute of CPAs (AICPA) is pleased to report that Olivia Kirtley, CPA, CGMA, has been elected to a two-year term as president of the International Federation of Accountants (IFAC). Kirtley, who succeeds Warren Allen, is the first female president in IFAC history, as well as the first representative from the business community to serve in that position.

IFAC is the global organization for the accountancy profession, dedicated to serving the public interest by strengthening the profession and contributing to the development of strong international economies. It is comprised of 179 members and associates in 130 countries and jurisdictions, representing approximately 2.5 million accountants in public practice, education, government service, industry, and commerce.

Kirtley has a long history of service to the profession, having previously served on the independent IFAC Task Force on Rebuilding Public Confidence in Financial Reporting in 2002 and 2003. She became a member of the IFAC Board in November 2007 and was elected deputy president in 2012.

"Olivia has brought to IFAC the same qualities that made her tenure as AICPA chair so successful," said Barry Melancon, CPA, CGMA, president and CEO of the AICPA. "Her experience in corporate finance and management accounting, extensive public board leadership and earlier work in public practice combine for proven leadership in today´s complex global business environment. I applaud her election."

In 1998, Kirtley was the first woman to be elected chair of the Board of Directors of the AICPA and continues to serve as a member of the governing Council. From 2000 to 2003, she was chair of the AICPA Board of Examiners, during which time the Uniform CPA Examination was converted from pencil-and-paper to a computer based exam.

In 2003, the AICPA awarded her its Gold Medal in recognition of her exemplary leadership and service to the accountancy profession.